Vivint Cancelled, but service still works

How long does it usually take for Vivint/Alarm.com to turn off service? I cancelled my service through Vivint and the it took effect at the beginning of this month (did not get billed for this month) but I can still disarm / arm my system via my phone. I haven’t tried a test trip of the alarm yet, I assume I wouldn’t get a call from Vivint monitoring.

As soon as the service is completely disconnected I plan to move to Surety but I’m surprised things are still operational.

I cannot really answer when the account would be canceled through Alarm.com, I have no direct experience with that company.

What I can say is that all the equipment (if 2Gig Go!Control) will be usable but generally speaking you will need a new module anyway unless you can get the account deleted and the module unlocked. If it is a 2G cell module you will need to get a 3G as the 2G cards can no longer be used to create new accounts.

If you have cameras you will want to remove them from your prior account first.

I was an ex Vivint user.

The Vivint ADC acct may stay active until they get around to disabling it. Usually though you should call and verify acct is canceled (you did email/mail in a NOC letter, correct?).

The Vivint contracts auto renew, and you cannot cancel the auto renewal over the phone.

You need to get it in writing that your contract has been canceled (or do not be surprised if three months from now you get collection calls and past due letters).

Once you verify Vivint acct is canceled you must remove the cellular module. This cannot be reused, and will have to be replaced.

Vivint will never unlock or release the cellular modules:
http://www.2gigforum.com/threads/193-Canceling-Vivint?p=638&viewfull=1#post638