Thoughts on icontrol One?

Surety DIY Folks:

What do you think of the icontrol One? I’m looking for an alternative to Qolsys, SimonXT, and ADC. I notice that monitoring is available from COPS - I have no experience with them, but what I read about them is encouraging.

The pictures of the icontrol One UI look impressive. It has 3G, Z-Wave, and WiFi. They say that it uses a MiFi radio, made by Novatel, that combines the Cell, Z-Wave, and WiFi functions into one radio (vs. standalone radios). For those who want video, full HD with 15fps is supposedly supported.

I don’t know much about icontrol. I talked with an acquaintance who is a professional installer, and he says he really likes the icontrol stuff.

So - what do you guys think?

Thanks,
T

What do you think of the icontrol One? I’m looking for an alternative to Qolsys, SimonXT, and ADC. I notice that monitoring is available from COPS – I have no experience with them, but what I read about them is encouraging.

Obsolete Junk. With a primitive (and most likely very expensive) backend service. It’s “new” capabilities are yesterdays tech, and brings nothing new to the table. it is not an alternative to Qolsys, 2GIG, or alarm.com. Not even in the same league. it is not cutting edge.

If you have a system already that already uses at least a 3G radio, has zwave capability, etc, then the icontrol system is an effective downgrade.

The only value is if you have a truly old crappy useless system (i.e., obsolete) that doesn’t offer zwave, and has a non-upgradable 2G cellular radio. It is marketed for “old home” security systems.

it the equivalent of a cable company trying to sell you a digital receiver for your old analog black and white tv set.