Schlage door lock with RE524X - not working

Hi. I have a 2GIG system that was installed in my house when I built it. I built a shop about 150 feet from the house and wanted to add a Schlage door lock. I have several on the house and they work well. I have added the door lock to the panel and it communicated fine until I installed it out in the shop. I feel the distance is too far.

I tried an Aeon Labs extender without any luck. It communicates to the panel, but not with the Schlage. So I decided to buy the RE524X Translator. I was able to enroll the translator to the panel (GC2). But I cannot get the Schalge to communicate. Do I need to re-enroll the Schlage since it has been in a malfunction state since I installed it? Is there something I am missing? I am fairly new to this…but I am also pretty technical.

Any help would be great. Thank you!

The RE524X repeats a selected wireless RF frequency, but not Z-wave. It does not communicate via Z-wave in any way and will not improve a Z-wave network signal.

150 feet is definitely too far for Z-wave, unfortunately. Only AC powered Z-wave repeating devices will improve the signal, but you would likely need multiple, fairly evenly spaced in between the lock and the panel at that range, and I am guessing that is not possible given the description.

Also, if the shop uses a metal door or metal siding/walls that will very heavily affect the signal.

Z-wave, unlike security sensor RF, is a mesh network with limited individual range. AC powered nodes like light switches and plug-in modules act as repeaters and extend the range based on where they are located.

For general Z-wave installation tips, please see this page.

Gotcha…so that is what I was missing. The RE2524X doesn’t do what I thought.

It will however take an RF signal and translate it to the 2GIG panel, correct? If so, do you know of an RF door lock that might work?

Thank you!