My experience planning and installing an alarm

Since this section is for “designing” an alarm system I thought it would be a great place to start this conversation. I am new to this, as I imagine many of the DIY customers are. I am realizing that I likely “over built” my system…which in theory means it is “more secure”, but it also raises the price of what I paid for sensors. I am learning from my own mistakes and thought I would start the conversation to help others.

While I realize that if someone was very focused they could find my house and would have the details of my security system here, I don’t think the risk is high as I think it would be pretty difficult to bypass it. I can say with confidence that my system is more secure with sharing this knowledge than a friend’s “professionally installed” ADT system that is setup just like every other cheap ADT system with a few obvious perimeter sensors and 1 motion sensor for where the panel is :slight_smile:

Some of this is stated in a few blog posts by Surety or others discussing “intrusion prevention” as being just as or more important than intrusion detection, to which I agree…though some users are really limited on options for hardening their perimeter. My house, as an example, is a 100+ year old craftsmen home that is in a registered historical district and has strict limitations on anything that changes the exterior appearance of the house…so I can’t replace my wood door with a steel reinforced door, I also can’t use the door hardening kits as they would be pretty hideous on my massive (irreplaceable) stained solid wood door (no paint to match). In a large part I ended up selecting SuretyDIY over other options because they offered the MightyMouse and other less obtrusive sensors.