Migrating to Surety

Hi there! I had a Vivint panel that was awful and I finally was able to be done with them this week. The one I had was proprietary so I purchased a 2Gig GC2e that works with my existing sensors. When I first got my system I had the smart home stuff (zwave locks, switches, and thermostats as well as cameras) on the panel, but I always had problems with the Vivint panel so I moved all the smart home stuff to other things and I am looking for just basic alarm functionality (I have 4 recessed door sensors, 1 PIR Motion sensor, 1 Glass break, 1 CO2 detector, 1 Smoke Detector, 1 2gig Key Fob). The GC2e panel I bought arrived today. There is no cellular module in it currently. I started programming it to work with my existing sensors today.

Will I be able to get this setup with surety monitoring? I found the cellular module on the shop, but do I need anything else? It says first month is free and then $5/month going forward. Looking under the plans section, I didn’t find one at that price. When I go to sign up and it asks for the serial number, and the help video shows checking the cellular module which I don’t have. I also would like primary connectivity to be over WiFi or wired Ethernet with cellular backup. A nudge in the right direction is appreciated. I just need to know what to buy. Thanks in advance!

Happy to assist! The 2GIG GC2e series panel and all listed sensors are compatible with our service. Cameras from Vivint typically are not compatible, you would need Alarm.com compatible cameras.

Regarding the thermostat, what model is it?

In order to use service through Surety the panel would require a 4G LTE cellular module (and the firmware would need to be at 1.19+ in order to be compatible)

You can check your panel’s firmware by navigating to:

• Security
  • Menu
  • Toolbox
  • Enter Master User Code (default 1111)
  • Click Version