Liftmaster Alarm.com garage door compatibility

I have a Liftmaster 3240M. It’s not that old but I don’t think it has the integrated wireless control. What do I need to purchase and install in order to control the garage door remotely? And what’s the additional monthly cost? Thanks.

The 3240M isn’t specifically listed in the compatibility list we have but, according to Liftmaster, any garage door opener they manufactured after 1998 is compatible with MyQ and Alarm.com. When was yours installed? Assuming it is new enough to be compatible, you would need to replace your garage door button with an 888LM control panel and install an 828LM gateway to connect with your Internet access.

It doesn’t add to your monthly cost, it’s included with Gold Interactive service.

Best Regards,
Ryan

Just to back it up, this thing is so worth it! :smiley: I never leave a door opener in my car now. I have always wanted an app to open and close and it is amazing.

My only advice, add a tilt sensor as well. Have had two cases where LiftMaster will say it is open and it isn’t or vice versa. This hasn’t happened in a LONG time, but the sensor just adds a double verification and peace of mind. Plus, for instance I turn on my garage lights (the door opener ones kept burning out) and the Open state using LiftMaster is about 20-30 seconds AFTER I opened the door and the sensor makes them come on while the door is halfway open.

Good point about the tilt sensor. The tilt sensor communicates directly with the 2GIG panel so the light automation is immediate. The Liftmaster MyQ system communicates with Alarm.com in the back-end so the light automation first goes through the MyQ gateway to Liftmaster’s servers via the Internet, then from Liftmaster to Alarm.com’s servers via the Internet, then to the 2GIG panel via the Alarm.com cell communicator. It’s a much longer trip and ends up right back in your house.