Home security/automation basics for the novice

Is there a really basic tutorial on using Surety from the ground up? Have a two flat we are renovating into a single family home and I would like to pre-wire things, but I’m new to home security systems and have no idea what is the best approach. Some people say use a wired system and others say WI-FI. The diversity of control boxes and their options adds a major dimension of confusion to our plans. We would like to have two zones for HVAC, a few cameras, and motion sensors. Should we add smoke detectors and light controls to the mix? Any best practices for new home security/automation planning appreciated. Thanks for any help in this quest, it is sorely needed.

For the most part the sensors are all Wireless (but not wifi, they have their own encrypted frequency), and battery life is 5 years plus. However, there are instances where wired might make sense. I would at the very least bring power to where you want your panels, those require power. If you want your panels cleanly mounted on the wall, bring the power to the rooms that you want the panels on the wall and for your security cameras (power and CAT). smoke detectors definitely you need power, too.

In its most basic form, this page walks through what to do if you are just looking to get started quick.

Some people say use a wired system and others say WI-FI.

FYI I think what you mean here is wired vs wireless sensors. Wireless in that statement doesn’t mean Wifi. Just means communicates wirelessly via an RF protocol. This will be different depending on the panel type.

This can already get out of the realm of a “basic” tutorial, as the discussion of benefits of wired vs wireless sensors can go on for a while.

Long story short, we sell Qolsys IQ Panel 2+ because we find it to deliver the most value and best experience. It is a wireless sensor system using PowerG and a legacy radio version (either 319.5 GE, 433 DSC, or 345 Honeywell)