Controlling my driveway gate?

I would like to control (open/close/status) my driveway gate. Currently I have a LiftMaster system and I can use my one remote to open the gate and the garage door. So I’m thinking that if I pair the 888LM to the gate box, it would then communicate to the 828LM. I don’t need the button for the 888LM really, but It might be nice to have one in the house so you can open the gate before going outside. My only concern is that the 888LM replace the receiver on my gate?? or is the 888LM like a remote and I would just “pair” it to my existing receiver?

clear as mud? :stuck_out_tongue:

So you have a Liftmaster Gate Opener that uses the same fob remote as your overhead and want to use the gate on a MyQ system? Would you be able to provide the model number of the gate opener? I’m intrigued and would like to know if there would be a solution myself. I am guessing (without speaking to Liftmaster yet) that the 888LM may not be able to directly interface with the Gate opener, but I could be wrong.

I have a BFT gate motor and receiver. Which did NOT work with my Liftmaster remote. It annoyed me, so I had a gate company come out and they wired in a Liftmaster 312HM secondary receiver. Then they were able to pair my existing liftmaster remote with that box, which then in turn tells the BFT via hard wire to open. It works great.

Liftmaster312HM.jpg

I have a LiftMaster 312HM secondary controller. It then tells my BFT controller to open. The owners manual for the 312HM has this diagram in it…Does this mean I would connect the 888LM to 3 & 4 on the receiver as a “wall button”??

Google 312hm manual if you need to see the whole thing, I don’t think I can post links here.

312hm.png

The 888LM I believe will only function with a MyQ compatible overhead.

At first I thought this sounded like a custom 821LM scenario but I am told by Liftmaster that you would not be able to control the gate with only the Liftmaster receiver, regardless of model.