2gig Power

I’m thinking about purchasing a 2gig system and installing it myself. My one hesitation is power to the panel and touchscreen keypad. There isn’t an outlet where I want to install the panel, and even if there was, my wife doesn’t like the aesthetics of the power module in a plug, even if the wire is run through the wall.

My question: can I connect into power from a nearby light switch (is the system 110V), or do I need to make it lower voltage? Somewhat of a novice here…

Thanks!

You can’t power directly on 110V. Its powered off of 14V DC. Running a wire to the basement or a laundry room and plugging it in there is the most cost effective way to hide the transformer.

aesthetics of the power module in a outlet (run wire around to buttom of box, and tape it with electrical) for a nice clean look.

Kinda looks like a “plug in” air freshener…

That doesn’t necessarily solve the problem with an outlet not being directly below the panel. I may just install a sunken outlet, then mount the panel over the outlet so you never see the wires: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002W6ZOR4/ref=pe_385040_121528360_TE_dp_1. Hopefully the power module fits in that box.

The transformer does not appear that it would fit in a recessed outlet of that kind with a panel mounted over it.

Are you unable to take the wire into a basement or attic? Often it’s possible to go straight into the garage if there’s no other option, as mounting near a garage entry door is common.

You dont need outlet directly below panel.
Try running the wire through drywall to outlet. Its not hard. Get 18/2 or 18/4 guage unshielded.

A keyhole saw (to create a wire trench)
Dap drywall patch
Paint

Cut trench with keyhole saw, push wire into “trench”, then Patch it, paint it…and it was like you never ran wire/cut drywall

I’d like to use one power supply for two panels. The 2GIG main panel and TS1 (smaller panel). I bought 18AWG wire and plan an 80 ft run for the main panel and about 65 ft run for the TS1.