2gig compatible tilt sensors

Looking for some advice regarding the tilt sensor I installed on my garage door. I saw a couple posts indicating reliability issues with the Resolution Products tilt sensor, so I ordered a Honeywell 5822T sensor instead. I’ve had it a few days, mounted (with screws) to the top of my garage door and I occasionally hear it triggered when nothing is going on in the garage - the panel will announce ‘garage door’ since I have the voice chime enabled. One time it did go off right as a neighbor with a loud aftermarket exhaust system drove by, but other times there is absolutely nothing going on. When I do a walk test I have to open the garage about three feet before the sensor is in a horizontal position and is triggered.

Are there any other tilt sensor options?

I will preface this by saying I have no direct experience with that specific Honeywell sensor (since we primarily use the Resolution Products version) however, a couple things pop to mind:

1. May be silly, but make sure that the proper loop number is programmed for the sensor operation. That particular sensor looks like it operates a vertical tilt on loop 3.

2. Also be certain you have the sensor mounted right side up. Orientation matters with tilt sensors, and the Honeywell 5822T has an arrow notched in the front to indicate which end is up.

Common among all tilt sensors is that a garage door must be opened further than with a typical open close sensor in order to pass the tilt angle threshold. If this is a concern, a wired contact may be used. A contact like this mounted at the base of the door and wired to an RE201 will trip based on the sensor magnetic gap (typically around 3 inches with these models.)

Its on the correct loop (3) and mounted properly. Perhaps its a dud.

The 5822T uses a ball switch as the tilt sensor, just like the RE206, except the 5822T has two of them in series where as the image of the RE206 below only shows one: