Why DIY

Ok so I am new to this DIY alarm stuff and I am asking myself the question of why go DIY versus using a an alarm company.

DIY seems to have a high up front cost and comparable monthly costs to what I have been quoted by an alarm company who came around the neighborhood. I was offered a 2GIG panel with 12 window sensors, 4 door sensors, a glassbreak, and 3 smoke detectors for an upfront cost of $180 and a monthly fee of around $50 per month. (I would design my DIY system a bit differently but for the purposes of comparison it is pretty close to what I would want.)

I know the alarm company is going to recoup their hardware money somehow, my concerns are two-fold…what’s the catch and if I go with the alarm company I am beholden to them for upgrades and expansion of my system.

Can someone give me some insight into this whole alarm company vs. DIY conundrum?

Thanks!

I know the alarm company is going to recoup their hardware money somehow

In general with installed systems you are looking at a contract (standard is usually 3 years) which bundles the monthly service contract with financing for the equipment/labor. With suretyDIY you are yanking the labor cost, financing, and service contract out of the equation.

If you purchase equipment from us, it is yours, not under financing lease. Our service agreement is month to month from the first day. Flexibility is a big benefit of DIY. It just depends on whether you feel it is right for you.

FAQs about the service can be found here.

Keep in mind you don’t need to buy the equipment from us to use our service. Alarm.com compatible equipment can be purchased from any retailer and used with suretyDIY. The things to watch out for are communication modules and cameras, as they can be locked to a provider or account and may not be properly removed prior to sale if found used.

comparable monthly costs